Plenary sessions


There will be three plenary sessions early in the morning on Tue. Wed. and Thu., each consisting of one high level presentation.


Tuesday, May 26 (8:45 - 9:45)

        Prof. Sir James Fraser Stoddart
Nobel Laureate in Chemistry (2016)
Northwestern University, USA



Wednesday, May 27 (8:45 - 9:45)


Molecular transport through two-dimensional constrictions

Andre Geim - Nobel Laureate in Physics (2010)

National Graphene Institute, University of Manchester
United Kingdom


This talk will provide an overview of our recent work using atomic-scale channels fabricated by der Waals assembly of 2D crystals. These ultimately narrow channels can be viewed as if an individual atomic plane were extracted from a bulk crystal leaving behind a 2D empty space, essentially an angstrom-size gap connecting two edge dislocations. Gas, water, ion and proton transport have been studied in such slits down to one atom in height, revealing unique, sometimes completely unexpected properties. 


Sir Andre Geim is Regius Professor at the University of Manchester. He was awarded the 2010 Nobel Prize for his groundbreaking work on graphene, a one-atom-thick material made of carbon. He has also received numerous international awards and distinctions, including medals from the Royal Society and the US National Academy of Sciences, and holds honorary doctorates and professorships from many countries and universities.

Thomson-Reuters repeatedly named him among the world’s most active scientists and attributed to him three new research fronts – diamagnetic levitation, gecko tape and graphene. More than thirty of his papers were cited >1,000 times with six of them >10,000 times. Two of the latter are among 100 most cited research papers in human history, according to journal Nature. He was also awarded the 2000 Ig Nobel prize for his work on levitation, becoming the first and only recipient of both Nobel and Ig Nobel Prizes. He has also received both Dutch and British knighthoods.


Thursday, May 28 (8:45 - 9:45)

      Prof. Ulrike Diebold
TU Vienna, Austria

Conference Chairpersons
Catherine DUBOURDIEU Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie GmbH - Freie Universität Berlin

Hahn-Meitner-Platz 1, D-14109 Berlin, Germany

+49 (0)162 4062 589
Giovanni MARLETTAUniversity of Catania

Laboratory for Molecular Surfaces and Nanotechnology V.le A.Doria 6 Catania Italy

+39 95 7385130
Paolo SAMORIUniversité de Strasbourg & CNRS

I.S.I.S, 8, allée Gaspard Monge, F-67000 Strasbourg, France
Wenping HUTianjin University

Key Laboratory of Molecular Optoelectronic Sciences, P.R. China