Young Researcher Awards

E-MRS Young Researcher Awards (YRA) are intended to honor and encourage graduate students whose academic achievements and current materials research display a high level of excellence and distinction. E-MRS seeks to recognize students of exceptional ability who show promise for significant future achievement in materials research.

Criteria for selection are:

To be eligible for an E-MRS Young Researcher Award at the E-MRS Spring Meeting, the applicant must be either:

  • Registered as a student undertaking a PhD research program on a topic within the scope of a symposium, or,
  • A Post Doc within 5 years of the award of a doctorate degree undertaking a research program within the scope of a symposium

The applicant must be the main, or a coauthor, of a manuscript and must be responsible for the oral or poster presentation of the paper to be delivered at the conference. In addition, the appropriate registration fee for participation at the conference must be paid by, or on behalf of the applicant prior to the conference.

Awards are presented in a dedicated ceremony either on Wednesday or Thursday evening. The prizes consist of a cash prize of 450 € accompanied with a diploma.

More information on the next edition of the YRA available HERE.


Congratulations to our E-MRS Young Researcher Award Winners !

YRA recipients:

2023 Young Researcher Award Winners - Fall

2023 Young Researcher Award Winners - Spring

2022 Young Researcher Award Winners

2021 Young Researcher Award Winners

2020 Prizes not awarded

2019 Graduate Student Award Winners

2018 Graduate Student Award Winners

2017 Graduate Student Award Winners

2016 Graduate Student Award Winners

2015 Graduate Student Award Winners

2014 Graduate Student Award Winners

2013 Graduate Student Award Winners

2012 Graduate Student Award Winners

2011 Graduate Student Award Winners