Anniversary Award

The E-MRS Anniversary Award recognizes the career contribution of a scientist to fundamental understanding of the science of materials through experimental and/or theoretical research.

20th Anniversary Award (2003):
Richard FRIEND, Cavendish Laboratory, Cambridge, UK
"Plastic electronics"

25th Anniversary Award (2008):
Dan SHECHTMAN Technion, Haifa, Israel and ISU, Ames, Iowa, USA
"Quasi-periodic Materials – Crystal Redefined"

30th Anniversary Award (2013):
Sir John PENDRY Centre for Plasmonics & Metamaterials
The Blackett Lab, Imperial College, London, UK
"Metamaterials open new horizons in electromagnetism"

35th Anniversary Award (2018):
Thomas EBBESEN, USIAS, University of Strasbourg & Collège de France, Paris
"Light-Matter Interactions in a Material Science Perspective"

40th Anniversary Award (2023):
Klaus MÜLLEN, Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research, Mainz, Germany
"Graphene Nanoribbons versus Graphene"
Maurizio PRATO, University of Trieste, Italy
"Multifunctional Hybrid Interfaces for Energy and Medical Applications"