preview all symposia

2023 Spring Meeting

Biomaterials and soft materials


Bioinspired and biointegrated materials as new frontiers nanomaterials (11th edition)

The symposium is composed of Keynote sessions covering frontiers themes such as Living technologies- Biological technologies; Living materials systems, surfaces and biomimetics multi – functionality - bioelectronics, biomagnetoelectronics, biophotonics; Biosignaling responsive nano-materials, - systems; Biomedical biosensor’s systems. The systems/materials find applications in a range of fields encompassing smart living building and human health. Frontier themes determine the success of the presentations at the forthcoming Symposium and will inspire further research in the field of materials science.

The symposium will bring together researchers from chemical, physical sciences and bio - science and – nanotechnology biomaterials for nanomedicine and engineering bio - electronic, - photonic, - magnetic nanosystems to discuss the latest advancements. The newest research ideas on nano(bio)technologies for smart(nano)materials, integrated systems to nanodevices will be discuss. These discussions, like the presentations, inspire frontier material science research.

Keynote Sessions:

Monday, 29 May Smart Nano-Materials and Systems Multifunctionality Strategy from Nature. Scaffold surfaces for tissue engineering; stimuli responsive nanoparticles bioactivity in vitro and in vivo, Biosensing.

Chairs, Leaders of Discussions:

Tuesday, 30 May Young Investigators Forum. The theme Grown the Biofuture

  • Chairs, Leaders of Discussions: Ph.D. student Nozawa Koki, University of Tsukuba, Japan.

The leader Working Group of the Young Investigators Forum, Prof. M. Tanaka, Kyushu University, Japan,
The Young Investigators Forum Scientific Supervisor Prof.Dr.Kaoru Toko, University of Tsukuba, Japan,
The Young Investigator Forum hosting Post-Graduate, PhD and Young and Graduate students’ reports invites participants in Symposia I, G, H, J with 3-minute Flash Reports. Profiles Young Investigators with Supervisors can be posted at the E-MRS Symposium webpage. Please view examples at and send a Profile at the Young Investigators Forum Working group:

Wednesday, 31 May Living Systems/Materials and Biomimetics Multifunctionality inspired by Nature. Living biomolecules and biosystems (nucleic acids, skin, bacteria, marine plants proteins, pigments) and their mimetic analogues bio - electronics, - photonics, - magnetism; tissue - like bioelectronics.

Chairs, Leaders of Discussions:

  • Prof. Dr. Bo Zhu, College of Materials Science and Engineering, Shanghai University, China,
  • Prof. Dr. Anne Staubitz, Universität Bremen, Institute for Organic and Analytical Chemistry Bremen,
  • Dr. Felix Olivier, University of Strasbourg, France,
  • Dr. Sc. O.Chukova, MSCA Felloweship, DESY, Hamburg Germany,

Thursday, 01 June Tutorial Advancing Frontiers in Biomaterials and Nanomedicine

  • Chair, Leaders of Discussions: Professor/Research Fellow Peilin Chen, Research Center for Applied Sciences, Academia Sinica, Taiwan, and Assistant PhD student C.Kio

Friday, 02 June Tutorial Frontiers in BioDiagnostics.

Keynote Introductions, Honorary Lectures

Monday, 29 May

09:00, Keynote Introduction Founder of the E-MRS, General Secretary of the E-MRS Prof. Dr. Paul Siffert
09:10 Honorary lecture The Nobel Laureate in Chemistry 2022: Prof. Dr. Morten Peter Meldal “Creating Functional Molecules with Click Chemistry and Bioorthogonal Chemistry” (project). Carolyn R. Bertozzi, Morten Meldal, K. Barry Sharpless are awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2022 "for developing click chemistry and bio-orthogonal chemistry.

Tuesday 30 May

10:30, Keynote Introduction Founder of the E-MRS, General Secretary of the E-MRS Prof. Dr. Paul Siffert

10:40 Honorary lecture The Nobel Laureate in Chemistry 2021: Prof. Dr. Benjamin List “Frontiers in molecular green engineering: asymmetric organocatalysis” (project). Revolutionary molecular construction by asymmetric organocatalysis with enzymes organocatalyst. New organocatalysts for asymmetric organocatalysis can complete with enzymes. This is an ingenious tool for building molecules.
Benjamin List and David MacMillan are awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2021 ”for development of asymmetric organocatalysis”. This is a precise new fool for molecular construction. This has had a great impact on pharmaceutical research and has made chemistry greener.

Thursday, 01 June

11:00 Keynote Introduction Founder of the E-MRS, General Secretary of the E-MRS Prof. Dr. Paul Siffert

11:10 Honorary lecture The Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine 2021: Prof. Dr. David Julius “Frontiers in Neurosensorics” (project). Body’s different types of receptors for different kinds of temperature and touch: sensory transduction molecules, mechanosensory neurons. The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2021 David Julius and Ardem Papapoutian are awarded “for their discovers of receptors for temperature and touch”. American two neuroscientists identified the molecular receptors for sensing temperature and mechanical, studying responses on spicy chili peppers and cool menthol for their investigations. Key mechanisms of how people sense heat, cold, touch and their own bodily movement are established.

Invited partners for publications:

MDPI Editor
Keynote Presenters Invited guest editors Special Issues journals are the E-MRS Special Issues Journals: Biomolecules. Biomedicines.
Special Issues belong to the Sections:
Bio-macromolecules. Natural and Bioinspired Molecules. Biological and Biomaterials. Bio-imaging. Bio-engineering. Biosensors. Molecular Medicine. and others. 

MDPI - Journal of Biomimetics,
Editor-in-Chief Dr. Stanislav N. Gorb (5 year IF = 3,877).

International Journal of NANOMEDICINE
Editor-in-Chief Dr. Tomas J. Webster (5 year IF = 5.038)



1 MBDownload


2 MBDownload


2 MBDownload


236.74 KbDownload

No abstract for this day

No abstract for this day

No abstract for this day

No abstract for this day

No abstract for this day

Symposium organizers
Emmanuel STRATAKIS (Main organizer)Institute of Electrnic Structure and Laser (IESL)

Foundation of Research and Technology Hellas (FORTH) and University of Crete, Nikolau Plastira 1000, Voutes, Heraklion, Crete

+30 2810 3912 74
Eugenia BUZANEVATaras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv

NASU “Physical and Chemical Material Science Centre”, Volodymyrs'ka Str. 64/13, 01601 Kyiv, Ukraine

+38 044 294 26 22
Masaru TANAKAKyushu University

Institute for Materials Chemistry and Engineering & Frontier Center for Organic Materials, Yamagata University, Japan &
Peter SCHARFFTechnical University of llmenau

Institute of Chemistry and Biotechnology, Weimarer Strasse 25, 98693 Ilmenau, Germany

+49 36 77 69 3603(04)
Stanislav N. GORBZoological Institute of the Kiel University