preview all symposia



Latest advances in solar fuels

This symposium will provide an interdisciplinary forum for the latest R&D activities on sustainable solar hydrogen generation by addressing the latest advances in fundamental understanding as well as performance and stability of efficient catalytic systems by bringing together top world-wide academic scientists and engineers.


Staggering air pollution worldwide, now chronic in certain major cities in Asia and in the Western world, has become one of the most important problems that humanity is facing. It is therefore crucial to transition to new societies where environmental, energy, and economic policies are no longer based on fossil fuel technologies to substantially decrease our environmental and health impact. Without a doubt, using the two most abundant, free, and geographically balanced resources available on Earth, that is the sun and seawater, to make an unlimited amount of clean H2 is The way forward. Indeed, it will provide a clean and sustainable energy resource while releasing only H2O in the atmosphere as an emission product from combustion and/or fuel cell use. With several decades of research, the scientific community still encounters great academic and technological challenges to efficiently generate hydrogen from water with sunlight at large scale and low cost. Recent developments based on novel system designs have led to significant advances in the fundamental understanding of light-induced charge dynamics and related interfacial chemical reactions and efficiencies as well as long term performance and stability of such new systems. This symposium aims to gather the most significant advancements in recent years for a sustainable generation of hydrogen from solar energy.

Hot topics to be covered by the symposium:

  • Latest improvements in photoelectrode design and performance for (sea)water splitting and CO2 reduction
  • Novel hybrid molecular-semiconductor catalytic systems
  • Progress in operando/in-situ spectroscopic techniques for energy science
  • Advances in materials design for efficient plasmonic/hot electron/multiple exciton generation
  • Status of long term performance and stability strategies and assessments
  • Latest development in low cost and large scale fabrication techniques
  • Atomic-scale understanding of mechanism and structural-performance relationships
  • Multi-time scale dynamics of photogenerated charges and defects
  • Modeling and simulation of photo(electro)catalytic solar fuels generation
  • National and international solar fuel energy systems, projects, and networks

Confirmed list of invited speakers:

  • Alceo Macchioni, Univ. Perugia, Italy
  • Antoni Llobet, ICIQ, Spain
  • Artur Braun, EMPA, Switzerland
  • Bruce Koel, Princeton Univ., USA
  • Bruce Parkinson, Univ. Wyoming, USA
  • Chengxiang Xiang, California Institute of Technology, USA
  • Chung-Li Dong, Tamkang Univ., Taiwan
  • Clemens Heske, Karlsruhe Institute of Tech., Germany
  • Daniel Esposito, Columbia Univ., USA
  • Emily Carter, Princeton Univ., USA
  • Gary Brudvig, Yale Univ., USA
  • Gerko Oskam, CINVESTAV, Mexico
  • Ghim Wei Ho, Natl Univ. Singapore
  • Harry Tuller, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
  • Hicham Idriss, SABIC, Saudi Arabia
  • Ian Sharp, TU Munich, Germany
  • Jae-Sung Lee, UNIST, Korea
  • Jan Augustynski, Warsaw Univ., Poland
  • Jennifer Leduc, Koln Univ., Germany
  • Jin Zhang, UC Santa Cruz, USA
  • Jinghua Guo, Lawrence Berkeley Natl. Lab., USA
  • Jozsef Pap, MTA, Hungary
  • Juan Ramon Morante, IREC, Spain
  • Kazunari Domen, Univ. Tokyo, Japan
  • Kevin Sivula, EPFL, Switzerland
  • Lianzhou Wang, Univ. Quensland, Australia
  • Mahendra Sunkara, Univ. Louisville, USA
  • Mohammed Huda, UT Arlington, USA
  • Ooman Varghese, Univ. Houston, USA
  • Prashant Kamat, Notre Dame Univ., USA
  • Renata Solarska, Warsaw Univ., Poland
  • Shaohua Shen, Xi’an Jiaotong Univ., China
  • Song Jin, Univ. Wisconsin, USA
  • Tim Lian, Emory Univ., USA
  • Victor Batista, Yale Univ., USA
  • Victor Klimov, Los Alamos Natl. Lab., USA
  • Wolfram Jägermann, TU Darmstadt, Germany
  • Yanfa Yan, Univ. Toledo, USA
  • Yasuhiro Tachibana, RMIT, Australia
  • Zetian Mi, Univ. Michigan, USA

Confirmed list of scientific committee members:

  • Thomas Hamann, Michigan State Univ., USA
  • Nick Wu, West Virginia Univ. USA
  • Yat Li, UC Santa Cruz, USA
  • Heinz Frei, LBNL, USA
  • Frank Osterloh, UC Davis, USA
  • Kirk Bevan, McGill Univ., Canada
  • Dongling Ma, INRS, Canada
  • Csaba Janaky, Univ. Szeged, Hungary
  • Liejin Guo, Xi’an Jiaotong Univ., China
  • Ana Flavia Nogueira, IQ-UNICAMP, Brazil


  • Solar Energy Materials and Solar Cells (Impact Factor 2016: 4.784) (Approved)
  • Journal of Materiomics (Approved)

No abstract for this day

No abstract for this day

No abstract for this day

No abstract for this day

No abstract for this day

Symposium organizers
Flavio Leandro DE SOUZAUniversidade Federal do ABC

Avenida dos Estados, 5001, Santo Andre – SP, Brazil 09210-580

+5511 4996 8353
Lionel VAYSSIERESInternational Research Center for Renewable Energy-Xi’an Jiaotong University

School of Energy & Power Engineering; 28 Xianning West Rd; 710049 Xi’an, Shaanxi Province, China

+86 298 266 4665
Samuel MAOUniversity of California at Berkeley

Department of Mechanical Engineering; Etcheverry Hall, Hearst Ave, Berkeley, CA 94720, USA

+1 510 2258210
Sanjay MATHURInstitute of Inorganic Chemistry, University of Cologne

Greinstraße 6, D-50939 Cologne, Germany

+49 221 470 4107/4657