preview all symposia

2023 Fall Meeting

Energy and environment


Ultra wide bandgap semiconductors for energy and electronics (UWBS2E)

Ultra-Wide Bandgap Semiconductors (UWBS) is an important class of materials that are used (or envisaged to be used) in a variety of applications, specifically related to the energy and electronics sectors. The present proposal, aims to establish the tradition for UWBS2E at Fall EMRS Meetings, serving as an arena for communicating the newest results in this booming field.


Ultra-wide Bandgap Semiconductors (UWBS) exhibit unique properties for their applications in power electronics, RF electronics, deep UV optoelectronics, extreme-environment applications, etc. There is a range of material systems belonging to the UWBS class. In the present symposium, we keep our focus on oxides (e.g. Ga2O3, ZnGa2O4, ZnMgO, AlGa2O4, ect), nitrides (e.g. AlN, high-Al-content AlGaN, boron nitride, etc), even though contributions on other UWBS are welcome too. The goal is to cover full chain of topics: from material elaboration to device fabrication and performance, bringing together two sectors of the UWBS community: material researchers’ and device fabrication/simulation experts. We think that the UWBS community would enthusiastically meet our initiative to create an arena in this field so urgently needed in Europe. The EMRS symposium is an excellent format for this purpose, as we already learned from the success of the UWBS2E at 2022 Fall E-MRS Meeting.

Hot topics to be covered:

UWBS2E Symposium will cover most recent aspects of the corresponding material research as well as emerging device components.We envisage contributions concerning materials:

  • AlN and high-Al-content AlGaN; Ga2O3; Boron nitrides; Complex oxides (e.g. ZnGa2O4, MgZnO, AlGa2O4, etc), Complex nitrides (II-IV-nitrides, II-II-nitrides, etc.)
  • Bulk crystal and thin film growth
  • Defects Studies: Theory/Experiment
  • Functionalization of defects
  • Optical, electrical, magnetic, and thermal properties
  • Device fabrication and performance

List of invited speakers:

  • Zbigniew Galazka Leibniz Institute for Crystal Growth “Bulk β-Ga2O3 single crystals grown by the Czochralski method”
  • Bernard Gil University Montpellier CNRS “Hexagonal boron nitride is an indirect bandgap semiconductor”
  • Julien Brault University Côte d'Azur CRHEA CNRS "van der Waals epitaxy of AlGaN based heterostructures on h-BN for applications in the UV range"
  • Johannes Binder University of Warsaw “Epitaxial hexagonal boron nitride for hydrogen applications and photonics”
  • Motoaki Iwaya Meijo University, Japan “UV-B Laser Diode Realized by Two Breakthroughs of Lattice-relaxed High-quality AlGaN and Polarized Doping”
  • Farida Selim Bowling Green State University "Defect engineering and tunning the band gap of Ga2O3".
  • Farid Medjdoub University of Lille CNRS "Pushing the breakdown voltage capabilities of GaN HEMTs by using UWBG Al-rich channel
  • Darshana Wickramaratne. Center for Computational Materials Science, US Naval Research Laboratory “Doping of aluminum gallium oxide alloys"
  • Junlei Zhao Southern University of Science and Technology, Shenzhen China “Complex Ga2O3 polymorphs explored by accurate and general –purpose machine learning interatomic potentials
  • Ray Hua Horng (Yang Ming Chiao University, Taiwan) “Study on in-situ doping Ga2O3 epilayer and relative power devices application
  • Ingvild Thue Jensen (SINTEF, Norway) “Bandgap and band offset engineering in κ-Ga2O3-based thin films
  • David J.Rogers Nanovation “Pulsed Laser Deposition for the Fabrication of Wide Bandgap Oxide Semiconductors
  • Kentaro Kaneko Ritsumeikan University “New material for power device : GeO2
  • Wan Sik Hwang Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Korea Aerospace University "Ga2O3 Based Heterostructure and its applications"
  • Sung Beom Cho Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Ajou University “Computational Study on Polymorphs of Ga2O3 on Alloying and Epitaxy
  • Ildiko Cora Institute of Technical Physics and Materials Science, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Budapest, Hungary. "Nanostructure of gallium oxide polymorphs studied by electron microscopy"

List of scientific committee members:

  • Vanya Darakchieva (Linköping University, Sweden)
  • Amador Perez (ICN2, Spain)
  • Jiandong Ye (Nanjing Univerity, China)
  • Hitoshi Umezawa (Advanced Power Electronics Research Center, Japan)
  • Inhwan Lee (Korea University, Korea)
  • Cuong Ton-That (University of Technology Sydney, Australia)
  • Chi Chung Francis Ling (University of Hongkong, China)
  • Izabela Grzegory (Institute of High Pressure Physics PAS Warsaw)
  • Filip Tuomisto (University of Helsinki)


Symposium participants contributions based on their symposium presentations will be published in a special issue open access and free of charge of Condensed Matter.

No abstract for this day

No abstract for this day

No abstract for this day

No abstract for this day

Symposium organizers
Andrej KUZNETSOVUniversity of Oslo

Sem Saelands vei 24, 0316, Norway
Daewoo JEONKorea Institute of Ceramic Engineering Technology

101, Soho-ro, Jinju, 52851, Korea
Ekaterine CHIKOIDZEUniveristé Paris Saclay, CNRS

45 Av. des Etats Unis, Versailles, France
Henryk TEISSEYREInstitute of Physics, Polish Academy of Sciences

Al. Lotnikow 32/46 02-668 Warsaw, Poland