preview all symposia



Epitaxial oxide films for electronic applications

Epitaxial oxide films enable a new generation of oxide electronic devices and energy applications. Materials such as Ga2O3, In2O3, and BaSnO3 open up new horizons in semiconductor electronics, while ferroelectric and multiferroic perovskites bring promise of a wide range of novel devices. This symposium covers topics ranging from theory, growth, alloying, and interface/surface properties to defect characterization, optical and electrical properties, and device fabrication.


Oxides are among the materials with the widest tunability of physical properties. Well-defined oxide structures of the highest material quality are particularly interesting for the next generation of electronic devices with tailored and/or unprecedented properties. Oxide semiconductors such as ZnO, Ga2O3, In2O3 and BaSnO3 are being investigated for their use in optoelectronics, power electronics, 2DEG electron transport, and device gating, whereas epitaxial layers with perovskite structure (e.g. KNbO3, SrTiO3, LaAlO3, BiFeO3, and others), along with their fascinating interfaces, pave the way to novel applications that exploit their ferroelectric, multiferroic, memristive and other outstanding functional properties. Despite their great promise, there are still many challenges associated with the technological development of epitaxial oxides for electronic applications. Preparation of tailored substrates and surfaces, precise control of growth, assessment of structural properties, understanding of the role of defects and interfaces, and correlating these with the optical and electronic properties – all constitute essential prerequisites for the successful deployment of novel oxide electronic devices. A more thorough understanding of the basic processes in these materials is thus required to control the various issues along the value chain and cross-fertilization between hitherto separated research fields will be needed to provide the necessary advancement. This symposium aims to provide the corresponding platform in this respect.

The symposium is dedicated to crystalline oxide materials, particularly transparent semiconducting oxides and oxides with the perovskite or related structures, of considerable structural quality that are designated for use in electronic devices and applications. It seeks to address all relevant topics in materials development, such as thermodynamic, material, and defect modelling, preparation of substrate materials, epitaxial thin film growth (e.g. MBE, MOCVD, PLD), doping, alloying, and defect formation, surfaces and interfaces, structural properties and defects, optical, electrical and thermal properties, contacts and structuring, and device design and preparation.

Hot topics to be covered by the symposium:

  • Ga2O3 and In2O3 homo- and heteroepitaxy
  • (Al,Ga,In)2O3 films and heterostructures
  • SrTiO3 and perovskite-based based thin film deposition
  • Ferroelectric thin films and heterostructures
  • Multiferroic oxides and devices
  • Approaches to memristive devices
  • BaSnO3 conducting layers
  • All-perovskite device concepts
  • Sensing with epitaxial oxide films (e.g. SAW)
  • Ga2O3 devices for power electronics
  • Ferroelectrics on semiconductors
  • Doping approaches during thin film growth
  • Surface and interface characterization
  • Correlation of structure/defects and properties
  • Spectroscopy and transport phenomena

Invited speakers (confirmed):

  • Ausrine Bartasyte, Univ. de Franche-Comté (FR)
  • Oliver Bierwagen, PDI Berlin (DE)
  • Ingrid Cañero Infante, Institut de Nanotechnologies de Lyon (FR)
  • Andrea Caviglia, TU Delft (NL)
  • Kookrin Char, Seoul National Univ. (KR)
  • Cristiana Di Valentin, Univ. Milano-Bicocca (IT)
  • Regina Dittmann , Forschungszentrum Jülich (DE)
  • Catherine Dubourdieu, Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin (DE)
  • Saskia Fischer, HU Berlin (DE)
  • Gervasi Herranz, Institut de Ciència de Materials de Barcelona (ES)
  • Marcel Himmerlich, TU Ilmenau (DE)
  • Man Hoi Wong, NICT (JP)
  • Lane Martin, UC Berkeley (US)
  • Hisashi Murakami, Tokyo Univ. of Agriculture and Technology (JP)
  • Takayoshi Oshima, Saga Univ. (JP)
  • Fan Ren, Univ. Florida Gainesville (US)
  • Guus Rijnders, Univ. Twente (NL)
  • Sayeef Salahuddin, UC Berkeley (US)
  • Jacobo Santamaria, Univ. Madrid (ES)
  • Heidemarie Schmidt, TU Chemnitz (DE)
  • Uttam Singisetti, Univ. Buffalo (US)
  • James Speck, UC Santa Barbara (US)
  • Susanne Stemmer, UC Santa Barbara (US)
  • Christopher Sutton, Fritz Haber Institute, Berlin (DE)
  • Holger von Wenckstern, Univ. Leipzig (DE)
  • Tae Won Noh, Seoul National Univ. (KR)
  • Hongping Zhao, Ohio State Univ. (US)

No abstract for this day

No abstract for this day

No abstract for this day

No abstract for this day

Symposium organizers
Debdeep JENACornell University

Materials and ECE Departments, Ithaca, NY 14853 USA
Matthias BICKERMANNLeibniz Institute for Crystal Growth (IKZ)

Max-Born-Str. 2, 12489 Berlin, Germany
Pavlo ZUBKOUniversity College London

London Centre for Nanotechnology, 17-19 Gordon Street, London WC1H 0AH, UK
Ulrike DIEBOLDTU Vienna

Surface Physics - Institute for Applied Physics, Wiedner Hauptstr. 8-10/134, 1040 Vienna, Austria