preview all symposia

Nanomaterials and advanced characterization


Defect-induced effects in nanomaterials

Following the success of the four previous similar symposia this symposium addresses the progress in tailoring basic properties of low-dimensional and nano-materials by introducing dopants (e.g., implantation) or applying external loads- and radiation-induced defects.


This symposium focuses on understanding the formation and evolution of defects at the nanoscale through experiments and theory/simulations. Solids without defects are impossible to achieve based on thermodynamics. The defects are a Janus Bifrons: they can deteriorate the properties of materials and structures, but they can also enhance them with unique and useful properties which are absent in the perfect solids. The formation and evolution of defects becomes more critical at the nanoscale as their interaction with grain boundaries and interfaces plays a key role in determining material behavior due to the high surface to volume ratio. This symposium will cover how such defects could be introduced controllably, categorized and controlled in nanostructures. Understanding and controlling defect properties and capturing the grain boundary effects in a wide class of advanced nanostructures (novel 2D materials, multiferroics, quantum dots and wires, etc.) could well be a key to breakthroughs in several crucial areas of science and technology.  Recent work has demonstrated spectacular optical and magnetic effects due to deliberately created defects or radiation-induced transformation of nanomaterials as well as radiation-induced displacements in low-dimensional insulators and semiconductors, with numerous potential applications. The high sensitivity of modern technologies on the submicron scale has promoted the exciting opportunity of developing new advanced materials with reduced dimensionality. This opens new prospects for ion and electron beam applications. Ion tracks and other radiation-induced effects provide a means for controlled synthesis and modification of low-dimensional materials, such as nanoclusters and nanowires, allowing for efficient nano- optoelectronic and energy storage devices.

Hot topics to be covered by the symposium:

  • Defects in nanomaterials, including graphene and other 2D materials
  • Swift heavy ion irradiation as the means to tailor nanomaterials
  • Defect interaction with grain boundaries and interfaces
  • Electronic structure of defects in nanostructures.
  • Defects in nanomaterials for energy storage
  • Defects in semiconductors
  • Creation, evolution and properties of radiation defects in nanosize materials and heterostructures; the role of interfaces, nonstoichiometry.
  • Multiscale modeling capturing defect creation and transformation in nanomaterials.

List of confirmed invited speakers:

  • Elias Aifantis, Aristotle Univ of Thessaloniki/Greece
  • Maksim Ananyev, Institute of High Temperature Electrochemistry/Russia
  • Hanna Bandarenka, Belarusian State Univ of Informatics and Radioelectronics/Belarus
  • Thomas Böhlke, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology/Germany
  • Alexei Bouravleuv, St.Petersburg Academic University RAS/Russia
  • José Coutinho, University of Aveiro/Portugal
  • Jeff De Hosson, University of Groningen/The Netherlands
  • Avraam Konstantinidis, Aristotle University of Thesssaloniki/Greece
  • Eugene Kotomin, MPI Stuttgart/ISSP LU, Latvia
  • R.V. Kumar, University of Cambridge/UK
  • Jörg K. N. Lindner, Universität Paderborn/Germany
  • Igor Lubomirsky, Weizmann Institute/Israel
  • Takahito Ohmura, National Institute of Materials Science/Japan
  • Vladimir Pankratov, University of Latvia/Latvia
  • Eugen Rabkin, Technion-Israel Institut of Technology/Israel
  • Janis Timosenko, Fritz-Haber-Institut der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft/Germany

List of scientific committee members:

  • Elias Aifantis, Aristotle University, Greece
  • Eduardo Alves, Lisbon Univerity, Portugal
  • Regina Dittmann, Juelich Research Center, Germany
  • Anatoly V. Dvurechenski, Acad. Sci., Novosibirsk, Russia
  • Eugene Kotomin, Max Planck Institute, Germany
  • Eugen Rabkin, Technion, Israel
  • Ion Tiginyanu, Acad. Sci., Moldova
  • Andrei I. Titov, St. Petersburg State Polytechnical University, Russia
  • Elke Wendler, Friedrich Schiller University of Jena, Germany


Selected papers will be published in "Physica Status Solidi" (Wiley).

No abstract for this day

No abstract for this day

No abstract for this day

No abstract for this day

Symposium organizers
Anatoli POPOVUniversity of Latvia

Institute of Solid State Physics, Kengaraga 8, Riga LV-1063; Latvia

+371 67187480
Flyura DJURABEKOVAUniversity of Helsinki

Helsinki Institute of Physics and Department of Physics, Pietari Kalmink. 2, 00014 Helsinki, Finland

+358 249 150084
Katerina E. AIFANTIS (Main)University of Florida

Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, 1064 Center Drive, Gainesville FL 32611, USA

+1 352 392 6227
Nikolai A. SOBOLEVUniversidade de Aveiro

Departamento de Física and I3N, Campus de Santiago, 3810-193 Aveiro, Portugal

+351 234 378117