EU-40 Materials prize


We seek to honor those whose work has already had a major impact in the field, and those young researchers whose work already leads to great expectations for future leadership.

The award is reserved to researchers showing exceptional promise as leaders in the materials science having performed the research for which this prize is awarded while working in Europe.

The award consists of a 5,000 Euro cash prize, a certificate, waiver of the meeting registration fee and an invited talk at the 2021 Spring Meeting of the European Materials Research Society where the award will be presented.

Wednesday 2 June, 2021 (18:00 - 18:30)  
EU-40 Materials Prize Recipient

Functional DNA nanotechnology

Laura Na Liu

2nd Physics Institute, University of Stuttgart
Pfaffenwaldring 57, 70569 Stuttgart, Germany

Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research
Heisenbergstrasse 1, 70569 Stuttgart, Germany


A fundamental design rule that nature has developed for biological machines is the intimate correlation between motion and function. One class of biological machines is molecular motors in living cells, which directly convert chemical energy into mechanical work. They coexist in every eukaryotic cell, but differ in their types of motion, the filaments they bind to, the cargos they carry, as well as the work they perform. Such natural structures offer inspiration and blueprints for constructing DNA-assembled artificial systems, which mimic their functionality. In this talk, I will discuss a variety of DNA-assembled architectures with different motion and functions. I will also outline ongoing research directions and conclude that DNA nanotechnology has a bright future ahead.


List of recipients:

2022 winner: ...

2021 winner: Laura Na Liu, University of Heidelberg, Germany

2020 winner: Prize not awarded

2018 winner: Xinliang Feng, TU Dresden, Germany

2017 winner: Bettina V. Lotsch, Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research, Stuttgart, Germany

2016 winner: Henry J. Snaith, Clarendon Laboratory, Oxford, U.K.

2015 winner: Aron Walsh, University of Bath, U.K.

2014 winner: Jordi Arbiol, ICREA & ICMAB-CSIC, Catalonia, Spain 

2013 winner: Manuel Bibes, CNRS/Thales, France

2012 winners: Molly M. Stevens, Imperial College, U.K. - Francesco Stellacci, EPFL, Switzerland

2011 winner: Andrea C. Ferrari, Cambridge University, U.K.