EU-40 Materials prize


We seek to honor those whose work has already had a major impact in the field, and those young researchers whose work already leads to great expectations for future leadership.

The award is reserved to researchers showing exceptional promise as leaders in the materials science having performed the research for which this prize is awarded while working in Europe.

The award consists of a 5,000 Euro cash prize, a certificate, waiver of the meeting registration fee and an invited talk at the 2021 Spring Meeting of the European Materials Research Society where the award will be presented.

Nominations should include:

  1. Curriculum Vitae including birth date;
  2. List of key publications (including citations and impact factors);
  3. Letters of support from two well established scientists;
  4. Any additional supporting information relevant to the award.

The nomination package should not exceed 10 pages (excluding the list of key publications) and should be sent by email at (subject: eu40materials) before February 28, 2021.

The nominee shall not have reached his/her 40th birthday in the year in which the nomination is submitted (2020).

Latest EU-40 Materials Prize Recipient

Dynamic plasmonics

Laura Na Liu

Kirchhoff Institute for Physics
University of Heidelberg
Im Neuenheimer Feld 227
69120 Heidelberg, Germany


A prerequisite to build advanced nanophotonic architectures is the ability to precisely control the organization of different optical elements, such as metal nanoparticles, fluorophores, semiconductor nanocrystals, and others in space. To this end, DNA origami represents an ideal construction platform owing to its unique sequence specificity and structural versatility. I will present sequentially a diverse set of DNA-assembled nanophotonic systems according to their characteristic optical properties. I will also discuss about the inevitable evolution from static to dynamic devices along with the fast development of this inter-disciplinary field. Finally, possible future directions and perspectives on the challenges will be elucidated.


List of recipients:

2021 winner: 

2020 winner: Prize not awarded

2019 winner: Laura Na Liu, University of Heidelberg, Germany

2018 winner: Xinliang Feng, TU Dresden, Germany

2017 winner: Bettina V. Lotsch, Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research, Stuttgart, Germany

2016 winner: Henry J. Snaith, Clarendon Laboratory, Oxford, U.K.

2015 winner: Aron Walsh, University of Bath, U.K.

2014 winner: Jordi Arbiol, ICREA & ICMAB-CSIC, Catalonia, Spain 

2013 winner: Manuel Bibes, CNRS/Thales, France

2012 winners: Molly M. Stevens, Imperial College, U.K. - Francesco Stellacci, EPFL, Switzerland

2011 winner: Andrea C. Ferrari, Cambridge University, U.K.